UNL National Diversity Advisory Board (NDAB)

At Nebraska, we believe in the power of every person and that every person and every interaction matter. This philosophy captures the spirit of Nebraska where everyone has their own stories, histories, experiences, and journeys that unite us and makes us unique. This mindset hinges on valuing the diverse perspectives of our faculty, staff, students, alums, and community and corporate leaders. In an ever-changing world, this is why an advisory board is critical to UNL’s ability to advance inclusive excellence and create an environment that ignites innovation, leadership, creativity, and learning—the pillars of higher education.

The National Diversity Advisory Board (NDAB) is an advancement and external relations body for the Office of Diversity and Inclusion aimed at assisting ODI in positioning UNL and Nebraska as a leader in promoting and advancing inclusive excellence policies and practices. More specifically, NDAB members are asked to:

  • Advise the vice chancellor and ODI leadership on emerging needs, challenges, and opportunities to advance inclusion and belonging;
  • Advocate for and support inclusive excellence and diversity programs, efforts, and initiatives;
  • Leverage your expertise and talent to provide students with an opportunity to learn from and engage with you;
  • Position UNL and Nebraska as a regional leader in providing comprehensive and coordinated diversity and inclusion education.

UNL National Diversity Advisory Board Members

  • Kevin Abourezk (Rosebud Sioux Tribe) | '12, M.A. | Lincoln, NE | Managing Editor, Indianz.com
  • George Achola | '91, B.A. | Omaha, NE | Vice President and Counsel, Burlington Capital, Real Estate
  • Ryan Beckman | '95, B.S., '02, M.B.A. | Lincoln, NE | President, Olsson 
  • Brad J. Brooks | '96, B.S., '09, M. Arch. | Omaha, NE | Managing Principal, B2lab Architecture
  • Katie Brossy  (Ponca Tribe of Nebraska enrolled citizen and Santee Sioux Akin) | '01, B.A. | Senior Counsel, Akin Group
  • Dr. Michael Cheng | '93, B.S., '95, M.S. | North Miami, FL | Dean, Florida International University Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management
  • Dr. Stephanie Davis Wallace | '09, B.S., '11, M.S., '13, Ph.D. | Columbus, OH | Chief Advancement Officer, Columbus Symphony Orchestra
  • Tracy Edgerton | '91, B.J., '98, J.D. | Lincoln, NE | Vice President for Philanthropy Services & General Counsel, Lincoln Community Foundation
  • Dr. Cynthia Gooch-Grayson | '87, B.A., '09, Ph.D. | Omaha, NE | Associate Vice President for Equity & Inclusion, Metropolitan Community College
  • Ka' Ron (KJ) Johnson | '00, B.J. | Houston, TX | Vice President of Sales, IMO Health
  • Daniel Vincente Leal Restrepo | '18, B.S. | Omaha NE | Wealth Advisor, Carson Wealth
  • Felipe Longoria-Shinn | '16, M.A. | Lincoln NE | Chief Executive Officer, Central Plains Center for Services
  • Anayeli Martinez Real | '11, B.S. | Omaha, NE | Project Executive, Kiewit
  • Vernon Miller (Omaha Tribe of Nebraska & Iowa) | '06, B.S. | Medford, MA | Indigenous Center Director, Tufts University
  • Lance Morgan (Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska) | '90, B.S. | Winnebago, NE | CEO,  Ho-Chunk Inc.
  • Danelle Smith (Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska) | Winnebago, NE | Partner, Big Fire Law & Policy Group LLP
  • Keith Station | '04, B.S. | Omaha, NE | Deputy Chief of Staff, City of Omaha Mayor's Office
  • Ava Thomas | Lincoln, NE | President, Omaha World-Herald and West Region - Lee Enterprises
  • Jay Warren-Teamer | '09, B.S. | Omaha, NE | Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska
  • Dr. Jamie Williams | '90, B. Journ., '20, M.B.A. | Lincoln, NE | President and CEO, Team81 Inc.
  • Odies Williams IV | '05, J.D. | Dallas-Fort Worth, TX | Government Oversight Professional, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Mr. Williams is serving in his personal capacity)
  • John Wyvill | Lincoln, NE | Manager, Government Affairs, Cox
  • Dr. Joyce Yen | '95, B.S. | Seattle, WA | Director, University of Washington ADVANCE Center for Institutional Change

UNL National Diversity Advisory Board Contact

  • Dr. Marco Barker | Vice Chancellor for Diversity and Inclusion, University of Nebraska-Lincoln | diversity@unl.edu
  • Ellie Clinch | Director of Development, College of Law and Special Projects, University of Nebraska Foundation | ellie.clinch@nufoundation.org
  • Jerri Harner | Executive Specialist, Office of Diversity and Inclusion | jharner3@unl.edu